version français
Logout
Conatct Us
Tour Registration
Click here to register for the Local Tours for Partners & Destination Canada representatives.

  Local Tours for Partners & Destination Canada representatives
Travel Alberta and Tourism Calgary are pleased to offer delegates the chance to take part in a city tour of Calgary during GoMedia 2018.

On Monday October 1, Partners and Destination Canada representatives can participate in one of seven afternoon city tours.

To reserve a seat on the tours, please register online.
The tour registration form will be available from August 9, 2018 to August 31, 2018.
Travel Alberta and Tourism Calgary will assign participants to tours and confirm with you directly with itinerary details.
 
Option 1
 
East Village Architecture Tour
Monday, October 1, 2018 13:00 - 16:15
Depart from Deane House

Studio Bell, home of the National Music Centre and the Central Library are some of the world-class architectural projects sprouting up in one of Calgary's newest, oldest, coolest neighbourhoods, the East Village. Learn how a trombone inspired a $191-million building devoted to music that opened in 2016, while touring five floors of awe-striking architecture and exhibitions that tell the story of music in Canada. Afterwards, you'll get a sneak peek at the much-anticipated new 240,000 square-foot Central Library set to open on November 1, 2018. Architectural Digest named it one of the most anticipated new buildings to open in 2018. The innovative design features curved walls with a geometric glass facade. The building also encapsulates Calgary’s LRT line, and reflects the evolving role of libraries as collaborative and inspiring community hubs.

NOTE: the Central Library will be under media and photo embargo until November 1, 2018.

Option 2
 
Dessert Tour
Monday, October 1, 2018 13:00 - 16:00
Depart Telus Convention Centre

In Calgary’s culinary haven, no sweet tooth need go unsatisfied.

After a morning of professional development, treat yourself to a sugar-laden tasting session through the city’s retail and entertainment district (17th Ave). Your guide will take you to all of their favourite guilty pleasure sweet shops like Made By Marcus, a micro-creamery where line-ups down the block are expected… even on a chilly winter day! Stop at Ollia Macarons & Tea to learn about the delicate macaron making process, and assemble a few of your own. We guarantee you’ll have a sweet time.

Option 3
 
Canada Dry, Eh? Walking Tour
Monday, October 1, 2018 13:15 - 16:00
Depart Telus Convention Centre

Prohibition in North America was an interesting time in history. Take a walking tour through the downtown area and learn the causes of Prohibition, why Canada went through two Prohibitions, and the human-interest stories that contributed to this fascinating era in Canadian history.

As your tour guide weaves through downtown Calgary bringing Prohibition to life, they will paint the picture of the cause of Prohibition and provide you the stories that contributed to this colorful time in history. You’ll learn of the riot that broke out at the Courthouse, the location of the “stash” from a robbery gone bad, the loop-holes, the speakeasy’s, and of course, the lasting effects of Prohibition in Canada.

This 2-hour walk tour ends at the Fairmont Palliser Hotel where you will enjoy one (1) Prohibition-style drink.Your tour guide will lead the group at a comfortable pace and make stops as needed.

Option 4
 
Calgary by Bike: A cycling tour of the city
Monday, October 1, 2018 13:00 - 16:00
Depart Telus Convention Centre

Did you know that Calgary has one of the largest connected networks of bike paths in North America? Experience Calgary by Bike, with leading Calgary-based blogger Mike Morrison, who also published the "Calgary by Bike" bike map.

We'll start the tour by gearing up with bikes and helmets courtesy of Nomad Rentals, and then taking a tour of some of Calgary's most iconic places, such as the Peace Bridge, Wonderland, East Village, Riverfront Walk, Kensington, Inglewood, and more. Learn about Calgary's pathway system, bike lanes, and how some Calgarians successfully cycle 365 days a year!

NOTE: Basic cycling experience recommended. The route is mainly flat, water will be provided. Please wear flat, comfortable shoes and dress for the weather. Bicycles and helmets are provided with the tour.

Option 5
 
Olympic City Celebration
Monday, October 1, 2018 13:00 - 16:00
Depart Telus Convention Centre

Calgary is home to winter sport in Canada. From the incredible athletic and volunteer efforts in hosting the 1988 Winter Olympics to the awe-inspiring performace athletes who call Calgary home Olympic dreams are made ever single day in our city.

For your very own Olympic adventure you will start the afternoon experincing the rush of adrenaline in an interactive Learn to Luge activity hosted at the Ice House, Winsport.  Next up we will head to Canada's Sport Hall of Fame where we will participate in a friendly, yet competitive scavenger hunt designed to celebrate the mavericks of sport in Canada.

NOTE: Please wear closed toe, flat shoes (running shoes recommended) in order to participate in our Learn to Luge activity.

Option 6
 
Best of the West: Cowboy Culture & Country Music
Monday, October 1, 2018 13:00 - 16:00
Depart Telus Convention Centre

Celebrate your inner cowboy/cowgirl spirit with this afternoon designed to delight your senses with western culture.

We will start our afternoon with a curated tour of the Canadian Country Music Hall of Fame, including the newly opened exhibit celebrating Alberta's own country music legend, Paul Brandt at the National Music Centre. Next up we will dust off our boots and experience our very own private performance & lesson in line dancing!

NOTE: Western attire is encouraged, but not required (think plaid shirts, denim and all of your western accessories)

Option 7
 
Discover Life on Earth at the Calgary Zoo
Monday, October 1, 2018 13:00 - 16:00
Depart Telus Convention Centre

Take a trek through the wilds of Canada and see some of the wildlife of the Rocky Mountains...cougar, grizzly bear, wolf and bison! After your Canadiana hike our guide will escort you through the beautiful Dorothy Harvie gardens including a butterfly experience or if you would rather get nose to beak with our penguins, it's up to you! Penguin Plunge is amazing...Our Land of Lemurs is not be missed, where you can be invited right into their habitat and learn about the world's most endangered primate - it's an immersive opportunity!

The Calgary Zoo is an island oasis of nature so join us!

Tour Registration
Click here to register for the Local Tours for Partners & Destination Canada representatives.

About Destination Canada
Privacy Policy
Mobile version
YouTube Twitter Facebook YouTube Twitter Facebook YouTube Twitter Facebook Home CTC Media Centre CTC Media Centre Calgary Travel Alberta

English version Quitter la session
Formulaire Incription - Visites de la région pour les partenaires et délégués de Destination Canada
Si vous voulez vous inscrire, cliquez ici.

  Visites de la région pour les partenaires et délégués de Destination Canada
Travel Alberta et Tourism Calgary sont heureux d’offrir aux partenaires touristiques et délégués de Destination Canada la possibilité de participer à une visite de Calgary, qui sera organisée pendant GoMedia 2018.

Les partenaires et délégués de Destination Canada sont invités à participer à l’une des sept visites le lundi 1 octobre en après-midi.

Pour réserver votre place, veuillez vous inscrire en ligne.
Le formulaire d’inscription, pour les visites, sera disponible le 9 août 2018 jusqu’au 31 août 2018.
Travel Alberta et Tourisme Calgary affecteront les participants aux visites locales et confirmeront directement avec vous les détails de l’itinéraire.
 
Option 1
 
Visite de l’East Village et de son architecture
le lundi 1er octobre 2018 13h00 - 16h15
Départ du restaurant Deane House

Le Studio Bell, abritant le Centre national de musique, et la bibliothèque centrale sont parmi les projets architecturaux de calibre mondial qui ont vu ou sont en train de voir le jour dans l’un des quartiers les plus novateurs, les plus anciens et les plus branchés de Calgary, l’East Village. Vous découvrirez comment un trombone a inspiré la construction du bâtiment de 191 millions de dollars dédié à la musique et inauguré en 2016, en explorant les cinq étages du bâtiment à l’architecture sublime et en visitant de merveilleuses expositions qui racontent l’histoire musicale du Canada. Vous aurez ensuite un aperçu de la bibliothèque centrale de 22 300 mètres carrés, dont l’ouverture, prévue le 1er novembre 2018, suscite beaucoup d’engouement. En fait, selon l’Architectural Digest, il s’agirait d’un des bâtiments les plus attendus de 2018. Au design moderne et novateur, la bibliothèque aux murs courbés et aux fenêtres géométriques, incorpore le métro léger de Calgary et reflète bien l'évolution du rôle que jouent les bibliothèques, qui sont à présent aussi des centres de collaboration et d’inspiration communautaire.

NOTE : La couverture médiatique et photographique de la bibliothèque centrale sera interdite jusqu’au 1er novembre 2018.

Option 2
 
Desserts à volonté
le lundi 1er octobre 2018 13h00 - 16h00
Départ du Telus Convention Centre

Sur la délicieuse scène culinaire de Calgary, les amateurs de sucré ont aussi de quoi satisfaire leurs envies.
Après une matinée de développement professionnel, offrez-vous une dégustation de douceurs dans le quartier des affaires et du divertissement (17th Avenue). Votre guide vous fera découvrir les grands péchés mignons du coin, notamment Made By Marcus, un glacier artisanal dont la file d'attente s'étire souvent jusqu'au coin de la rue... même l’hiver! La visite guidée vous mènera aussi chez Ollia Macarons & Tea, où vous découvrirez toute la délicatesse requise pour faire des macarons et pourrez même en assembler quelques-uns. Plaisir (coupable) garanti!

Option 3
 
La prohibition : une visite pédestre
le lundi 1er octobre 2018 13h15 - 16h00
Départ du Telus Convention Centre

La prohibition en Amérique du Nord est une période intéressante de l’histoire. Faites une visite du centre-ville à pied pour découvrir ce qui a entraîné cette interdiction, comprendre pourquoi le Canada l’a vécue deux fois et connaître les parcours de vie qui ont contribué à cette fascinante période de l’histoire canadienne.

Vous parcourrez le centre-ville de Calgary avec votre guide, qui brossera un portrait de cette période mouvementée en vous racontant les moments qui l’ont marquée : l’émeute au palais de justice, la cache du lot d’un vol ayant mal tourné, les failles exploitées, les bars clandestins, et bien sûr, les effets durables de cette époque sur le pays.

Au terme de votre visite de deux heures, vous aurez droit à une boisson inspirée de la prohibition à l’hôtel Fairmont Palliser. La promenade se fera à un rythme agréable et comprendra des arrêts, au besoin.

Option 4
 
Calgary à vélo : découvrez la ville sur deux roues
le lundi 1er octobre 2018 13h00 - 16h00
Départ du Telus Convention Centre

Saviez-vous que Calgary possède l’un des plus grands réseaux de pistes cyclables en Amérique du Nord? Découvrez la ville à vélo en compagnie d'un blogueur calgarien reconnu, Mike Morrison, à qui l’on doit la carte Calgary by Bike.

Une fois tous les participants équipés de vélos et de casques, fournis par Nomad Mobile Gear Rental, le groupe fera la tournée de plusieurs points d’intérêt les plus emblématiques de la ville, comme le pont Peace Bridge, la sculpture Wonderland, le sentier riverain RiverWalk, et les quartiers de l'East Village, de Kensington et d'Inglewood. Vous découvrirez le réseau de sentiers et les voies cyclables, et apprendrez comment certains résidents font du vélo 365 jours par an!

NOTE : Une expérience de base en vélo est recommandée. Le circuit est généralement plat. Portez des chaussures plates et confortables et habillez-vous en fonction de la météo. Les vélos, les casques et l’eau sont fournis.

Option 5
 
Calgary, une ville olympique
le lundi 1er octobre 2018 13h00 - 16h00
Départ du Telus Convention Centre

Calgary est la référence en sports d’hiver au Canada. De ses incroyables contributions bénévoles et athlétiques lors des Jeux olympiques d’hiver de 1988 aux remarquables athlètes d’élite qui y résident, elle continue de faire vivre le rêve olympique.

Vous commencerez votre propre aventure olympique par une leçon de luge interactive et exaltante à la piste de glace de WinSport. Vous passerez le reste de l’après-midi au Panthéon des sports canadiens, où vous ferez honneur aux héros canadiens du sport lors d’une chasse au trésor à la fois amicale et compétitive.

NOTE : Pour participer à la leçon de luge, vous devez porter des chaussures plates et fermées (les chaussures de sport sont recommandées).

Option 6
 
Spécialités de la région : la culture du cowboy et la musique country
le lundi 1er octobre 2018 13h00 - 16h00
Départ du Telus Convention Centre

Vivez vos rêves de cowboy ou de cowgirl le temps d’un après-midi en vous plongeant dans la culture western.

Votre expérience commencera par une visite guidée du Panthéon de la musique country canadienne, dont la nouvelle exposition du Centre national de musique qui met en vedette une légende albertaine du country, Paul Brandt. Vous chausserez ensuite vos bottes de cowboy pour un spectacle et une leçon privés de danse en ligne!

NOTE : Bien que les habits western soient recommandés (p. ex. chemises à carreaux, jeans, accessoires de cowboy), ils ne sont pas obligatoires.

Option 7
 
Découvrez les animaux du monde au zoo de Calgary
le lundi 1er octobre 2018 13h00 - 16h00
Départ du Telus Convention Centre

Découvrez les animaux indigènes des Rocheuses, comme les cougars, les grizzlis, les loups et les bisons. Après cette belle balade canadienne, votre guide vous mènera dans les magnifiques jardins Dorothy Harvie, où vous pourrez passer un moment au milieu des papillons ou faire connaissance avec les pingouins; à vous de choisir! Si l’aire des pingouins est remarquable, celle des lémurs promet une expérience immersive incontournable! En effet, c’est directement dans leur habitat que vous découvrirez les primates les plus menacés au monde.

Le zoo de Calgary, c’est une île paradisiaque en nature!

Formulaire Incription - Visites de la région pour les partenaires et délégués de Destination Canada
Si vous voulez vous inscrire, cliquez ici.

À propos de Destination Canada
Confidentialité Version mobile
YouTube Twitter Facebook YouTube Twitter Facebook YouTube Twitter Facebook Home Calgary Alberta Centre des médias de la CCT